Adventures in Dining

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Miscellaneous Manhattan – the Diamond Dairy and Union Square Farmer’s Market June 2007 June 8, 2007

Filed under: Manhattan Dining,New York Restaurants — hpandaw @ 8:35 pm

While on my own, I ventured into the Diamond Dairy for breakfast. This was yet another find from Chowhound. It was a very small Kosher restaurant located inside the Diamond Exchange. Because I got there before the Diamond Exchange was open, I had to enter, not through the Exchange, as I’d read, but through the next doorway down. A security guard sent me up a flight of stairs, and when I exited, I was inside this restaurant. It’s located, by the way, at 4 W. 47th St, between 5th and 6th Aves.

There was only one other table occupied when I entered the restaurant, so I was seated immediately. The table had a pamphlet of the various brachot to be said before, during, and after meals; as I’ve said before, this was a very Kosher restaurant. The server instructed me to turn my menu over for the breakfast special: 2 eggs, potatoes, a bagel with cream cheese, and a coffee for $3.25. You can’t beat that deal with a stick, especially for midtown Manhattan.

The food was pretty good, not great, but just standard breakfast fare. The thing that really made this restaurant worthwhile was the view. One entire wall is a glass panel, with a view down into the Diamond Exchange. Because I got there early, I was able to watch the merchants set up their booths below. We’d lived in New York for a few years, and so had done most of the touristy stuff; on this trip, I was looking for more unique experiences, and this was definitely one of them. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any photos. I didn’t want them to think that I was casing the joint (to use my 1940’s criminal lingo) for a future diamond coup.

The other place where we ate was at Bryant Park, just like old times. My husband and I had both worked in midtown, so we used to pack lunches and meet up at the park for our lunch hour. We’d gone the day before to the Union Square Farmer’s Market, and had bought 2 pieces of cheese from the sheep’s milk cheese stand from Jersey. Unfortunately, I can’t remember the name of the farm, but there were two goat’s milk stands and only one sheep’s milk stand there. One cheese was firm, with a mild animal taste that I enjoyed very much. As I said earlier, I like to be able to taste the animal in my cheese. It cost $22/lb.

The next cheese was our favorite. When the guy at the stand asked us what kind of cheese we liked, we instantly replied, “Smelly!” He had given a taste of this, and boy, was it ever smelly. It was delicious: soft, creamy, and with a lot more flavor than a brie or camembert. It cost $19/lb, and was worth every penny. I would strongly recommend a stop by this booth for the cheese lover who has time to spend in Manhattan.

 

Leave a Reply

